Reviews From Recent Guests

image50

                                          Air BnB Reviews


5 Stars  Heather & Sean - Hampstead, NC  November 2019

A 10 star Bed and Breakfast! From the hospitality, accommodations, the beyond breakfast, and meeting Lee and Jan everything was outstanding! We look forward to date nights monthly with them! 


5 Stars  Anil & Anju-  Cary, NC  November 2019

Jan and Lee, thank you for hosting us last weekend. Our experience for being first timers on spending a night at boat, and for being our very first B&B experience, was great. Your conversations and insight into boating was awesome, and your suggestions regarding what to do around town was awesome. We both thank you very much! 


5 Stars  Julia & Chris - Houston, TX  October 2019

Staying aboard Jan and Lee's boat was so fun and such a treat! Beautifully designed, trimmed with classic wood furnishings and a bed that I wish was my own, we couldn't have had a nicer time. Had we not had a wedding to go to, we would have spent even more time happily conversing with our hosts. I hope to have the opportunity to visit again! 


5 Stars  Leanne - NC,  September 2019

Wonderful views ...easy walk to restaurants 


5 Stars  Sarah & Blair - Zebulon, NC  September 2019 

I can’t say enough about this amazing stay! It was a unique experience getting to stay on the boat. Something my husband has always wanted to do. And thanks to Jan and Lee I was able to surprise him and make that dream come true. The yacht is gorgeous. The marina is quiet and beautiful. The bed was so comfortable we hated to get up in the mornings. Mrs. Jan is the sweetest host we’ve ever had. You will NOT regret your decision to stay here. We absolutely will be staying with Jan and Lee again in the future. Thank you so much for your hospitality Jan. We miss you and the boat already. God bless you both!


5 Stars  Kevin & Trina - Fargo, ND September 2019

Shangri La is a beautiful vessel. Jan & Lee make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive. Breakfast was amazing each morning. Conversation was great and inspirational. Really enjoyed hearing their story and zeal for life. We are already planning our return trip. 


5 Stars  Susan - Greensboro, NC  August 2019

 We were looking forward to staying on a yacht like this for the first time ever and we had a blast! Amazing hospitality, cozy quarters and walking distance to everything. Even though my husband is 6’1” and 200 lbs he was very comfortable on the boat and slept great. We are ready for our next adventure on dock B with Jan and Lee on the Shangri La. 


5 Stars  Vonda & Scott - Mebane NC August 2019

They can expect a wonderful experience with Jan and Lee and their Yacht. Can't get any better. It was a perfect stay. Would do it again in a heart beat. Our stay was very comfortable and everything was clean and spotless. You will not find better hosts than Jan and Lee. 


5 Stars  Katie - Greenville NC  July 2019

Mrs. Jan and Mr. Lee were so friendly and welcoming! We had the best stay on their boat!


5 Stars  Jamie & Jeremy - Orem UT,  July 2019

 Wow! Stay on this boat! We had a wonderful 3 nights on the Shangri-La! Comfortable bed, warm shower, enjoyable space on top to read as the sun sets at night and the best breakfasts handmade by Jan on the boat to start your morning. Everything about it was lovely. 


5 Stars  Delphine & John - Kill Devil Hills, NC  June, 2019

Docked in a beautiful marina with interesting and hospitable hosts on a beautiful boat watching the dock neighbors with their beautiful boats and enjoying meeting them. The world's greatest breakfast. The stay was perfect, we will do it again. Thank you Jan and Lee, I looked forward to the stay, and it was even better than I imagined. 


5 Stars  David & Amanda - Chapel Hill, NC  June, 2019

Our experience on the Shangri La was fantastic! Jan & Lee we were beyond wonderful hosts. The boat is roomy and very well kept. All the spaces were exceptionally clean, the stateroom was quite large for a boat this size with a very comfortable bed, the bathroom inside the stateroom was very clean and worked really well. The stateroom had its own air conditioning system and they even two extra fans in the stateroom for people like myself who love air that is always moving. The biggest surprise besides the yacht were the most amazing breakfasts each morning that Jan prepared. I generally say food tastes good when served to be polite. These breakfasts were over the top and you can tell how much care Jan puts into everything she serves. Lee her husband was such an interesting and down to earth person. They offered us as much privacy as we wanted or they were available for recommendations, local knowledge or just really nice conversation. I am generally a private person and usually keep to myself in a polite way, I felt very comfortable with both Lee and Jan (As did my wife) and it was an added bonus when they were on board. Beaufort is a charming and historic seaport with excellent restaurants and a waterfront area. The walk into the heart of Beaufort was about 5 minutes from the Shangri La and a delightful one at that. The Marina is quite nice, quiet and the people all very friendly. Jan and Lee have created a wonderful environment which is basically a floating, bed and breakfast. Their enthusiasm and love for what they do shows. My wife and I would recommend the Shangri La, Jan & Lee and Beaufort to anyone wishing to take a break! Thank you guys! It was Excellent! David & Amanda 


5 Stars  Marvin - Black Mountain, NC  June 2019

This is a great place, location and hosts. I will do this again. Marvin.


5 Stars  Erica - Greenville, NC  June 2019

Wonderful place! Very clean and excellent host. The breakfast will leave you not wanting to check out. We can’t wait until our next trip 


5 Stars  Zach - Virginia,  May 2019

A great experience, Jan and Lee are awesome hosts. Couldn’t ask for a better time and really enjoyed being on their boat. 


5 Stars  Susan and David - Raleigh, NC  May, 2019

We had a fantastic boat-and-breakfast experience! Jan and Lee’s yacht is immaculate and surprisingly spacious. They have wonderful suggestions of things to do, and are just so much fun to hang out with! Jan’s breakfasts are absolutely delicious and gave us plenty of energy for exploring the beautiful Beaufort area. We cannot wait to spend more time with them on Shangri-La! 


5 Stars  Robert & Anne - GA  May, 2019

This is a great boat and they are perfect hosts. Food was great. This is a perfect place to stay for someone who likes boats or RVs. It is not for kids.


5 Stars  Don & Sandy - Charlotte, NC  May, 2019

Wonderful hosts! Unique experience! Easy walking to downtown Beaufort! Some great restaurants and sights to choose from! Highly recommend!!


5 Stars  Mark & Linda - Raleigh, NC  May, 2019

Jan and Lee were fantastic hosts!!!! We celebrated our 40th anniversary aboard the Shangri -La!! Beautiful views at sunset! Jan is absolutely the most amazing cook!!!! They appreciated since is was our anniversary that we wanted a little space and were wonderful accommodating that! But we really enjoyed hanging with them when we could!! Definitely would recommend!!!! Now if I can only convince my husband to buy a boat!!!!


5 Stars  Don - Charlotte, NC  May 2019

Wonderful hosts! Unique experience! Easy walking to downtown Beaufort! Some great restaurants and sights to choose from! Highly recommend!!  

Other Reviews:


5 Stars   Mary & Don - Toledo, OH  July 2018

Don and I spent 5 nights and 6 days with Lee and Jan in their wonderful home on the water. It was so peaceful and relaxing.  Our hosts couldn't have been more accommodating, making sure all our needs were met and that we were well fed!  Thank you Lee and Jan for a great time!  Can't wait for our next visit! 


5 Stars   Linda and David B. - Minneapolis, MN  August, 2018

We spent the weekend aboard Shangri-La, hosted by Jan and Lee, and can’t say enough about their hospitality, great food and the comfort and beauty of this lovely boat. We fell fast asleep every night, and loved the bathroom, shower plus hot coffee en suite in the morning. Very private. Jan’s breakfasts are amazing, and there’s nothing better than enjoying them on the top deck with a view over the harbor. Lee is a great conversationalist and happy to answer questions about the boat and sailing. A highlight for my husband was getting to see the engine. It was a terrific weekend for both my husband and me, and look forward to booking with Jan and Lee again.


5 Stars   Anthony S. - Lewes, DE   October/November 2018

Having early-onset winter blues last November, I treated myself to a rather extended stay aboard the Hotel Shangri-La. I was lucky enough to have seen (7) of our beautiful states, lots of bodies of water, and experienced all 4 seasons within the span of just a couple weeks. The accommodations are what you’d typically find in a boutique hotel. Your room is fitted with unique linens, and touches of the owner’s personal style are found throughout the boat. It’s really very cozy, comfortable, and welcoming.

There is nothing left to be desired when it comes to the hospitality department of your mini cruise ship, either. There is sometimes a set menu, but with a little advance notice of your stay, you just might be able to talk with the Head Chef and Sous Chef into making a favorite of your own. Each dish is lovingly prepared in the ship’s galley. While small in stature, the little kitchen is capable of putting out a 5-course meal if you so desire. It’s just a short walk into downtown Beaufort for some ice cream after the evening meal, but Jan’s desserts are worth sticking around for. You will NOT go to bed hungry! If you choose to bring your own liquor onboard, so be it, but I found the ship’s whiskey locker to be fully stocked with trusty favorites. At the end of each day of my stay, I found myself on the flybridge holding a beach drink and reveling in the company of my hosts. By request, music can be played low to set the mood for a little romance, or you can jam out to whatever you so choose for a more upbeat and relaxed evening.

Lee and Jan are world-class hosts, storytellers, and entertainers. Treat yourself to a unique experience in one of the East Coast’s most historic a 

nd beautiful towns, and expect to depart on your last day as new-found lifelong friends.

Happy Motoring : )


5 Stars   Joanne & Dave - Virginia Beach, VA  January, 2019

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights/3 days on Lee and Jan’s boat. The accommodations were great - the food was fabulous and the scenery was romantic. I would highly recommend staying here and will be back ourselves.